CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby CopperPhil » 04 Jul 2017, 23:28

This is very interesting! So, there are some restoring errors related to Bome Translator.

This software is using virtual MIDI ports, similarly to CopperLan, and you've activated the Bome MIDI ports in CopperLan in order to expose them to the network, right?

What's going on if you save/restore a snapshot of connections between the Mac, the PC and the AL-88, but without using Bome MIDI Translator ports? I just want to check if the problem is related (or not) to the Bome MIDI ports handling.
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 469
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 05 Jul 2017, 01:26

I left the 'Hybrid PC' (that was running Bome Midi Translator) turned off, along with AL-88c Rack.
I created a no-connection snapshot with that configuration. Then I made several connections and did a snapshot of that.

When I recalled the blank snapshot, the connections from the AL-88c KB that were in old snapshots reappeared. I had deleted all snapshots in the PC before making the 2 new ones!

Then when I recalled the populated snapshot, the connections from the mac mini were lost, like they were lost with the complete setup.

This was using :
AL-88c
AL-22
Windows 10 Enterprise PC, i7, 12GB Ram
mac mini 2016 i5

One other networking thing running on these machines is 'Synergy' : https://symless.com/synergy , a mouse and keyboard sharing application.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 16 Jul 2017, 17:12

I bought a new i7 PC loaded with 24GB RAM and gigabit ethernet, I set it up in place of the 'Hybrid' PC that I had which was older. Same results.

One part of this that I'd imagine should be surmountable is the way that connections from the mac mini are not remembered or recalled in snapshots. (As it is a very common machine and not an Alyseum device)

I had uninstalled and reinstalled CopperLan on the mac mini before, but I don't know where CopperLan-related files are located on it, as opposed to on a PC where I can find them all over and in the registry.

I noticed a similar problem in the GENERAL section of this message board named "Saving the setup"

Any ideas?
Thanks again.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 17 Jul 2017, 02:14

I formatted and reinstalled os Sierra on my mac mini. I set up connections and everything worked and did a Snapshot.
From a PC I got this log from a restore that should have made connections with the mac:
Code: Select all
[size=50]19:59:10:047;CN;CNT_Connected
19:59:11:194;CN;CNT_NetworkStable
19:59:22:671;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0001, D 0x000013a5, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified VNMManager's CHAI on VSTPC
19:59:22:675;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0002, D 0x6954fc67, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified MIDI on VSTPC
19:59:22:733;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0001, D 0x00003b08, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified VNMManager's CHAI on Bear’s Mac mini
19:59:22:749;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0002, D 0x80f79be0, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified MIDI on Bear’s Mac mini
19:59:22:790;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0001, D 0x00001cfa, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified VNMManager's CHAI on RACKPC
19:59:22:793;DDcl;[B 0x0001, M 0x0002, D 0xd355d4f2, m 0x0000] DDNT_DeviceModified MIDI on RACKPC
19:59:23:936;CN;CNT_NetworkStable[/size]

.
The Restore Dialog was ::

Loading file...
Error restoring VMidi 10 on Bear's Mac mini
Error restoring VMidi 12 on Bear's Mac mini
Error restoring Bome MIDI Translator 7 on RACKPC
Error restoring Bome MIDI Translator 4 on RACKPC
Error restoring Bome MIDI Translator 9 on RACKPC
==============
Consistently, connections dropped upon Restore are:
2 connections from the mac (VMidi 10 and VMidi 12, the only 2 connections from the mac)
A connection From Bome Translator 4 to an Alyseum AL-88c on CH1
Any connections from Translator 7 above Ch9
A single connection from Translator 9 on Ch16

I've also noticed that, if I simply repeatedly click Refresh in the Overview screen of CopperLan Manager with a set up involving the mac mini, maybe 1 out 8 times that it refreshes the connections with the mac mini do not appear. If I click refresh again they will appear.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby CopperPhil » 25 Jul 2017, 08:30

Hi,

I reproduced a similar setup here except the Alyseum device, which doesn't seem to be the cause of the problem finally. I don't have any snapshot issue...

It definitely look like CopperLan is going in timeout at some point on your setup. The strange thing is that I don't see any warning message in the log you provided here.

One thing we didn't check yet: you told me that you don't use WIFI, all your computers are wired, right? Did you check the cables? The CopperLan protocol needs a strong connection, and a it can be disturbed if a cable is not properly plugged, or any other cable related issue.

BTW, what kind of switch/router do you use?
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 469
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 27 Jul 2017, 23:15

Yes, all wired gigabit CAT6. 1 Dell Powerconnect rack gigabit router and 2 small Netgear gigabit routers. 2 PCs, a mac mini, 2 AL-88c and 1 AL-22.

The mac mini connections are never remembered by snapshots.
An empty (no connections) snapshot will not overwrite some connections.

Odd items : Simless Synergy network mouse/keyboard sharing app : https://symless.com/synergy
: Midi Translator Pro (On a dedicated PC to configure things)
: Brainspawn Forte http://www.brainspawn.com/ (On a PC dedicated to run VSTs)

CopperLan sees all that, responds if something is unplugged, and works without problems other than snapshots.
I've wiped and re-loaded the computers except the VST PC, which I dread re-loading.

I'm hoping to use just a small number of snapshots to configure the whole thing like 1) controllers feeding Logic X on the mac or 2) controllers going directly to sound sources through Midi Translator Pro.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 31 Jul 2017, 02:44

I took the daisy-chained cheap Ethernet switches out of the system. All connections direct from a Dell Powerconnect 2808. Same results.
Could there be some mac os Sierra 10.12.6 security that prevents CopperLan from re-establishing connections in a snapshot? The mac firewall is off, Bluetooth off, wireless off.
But a no-connection snapshot will disconnect mac connections!
A no-connection snapshot will not disconnect AL-22 or AL-88x 'KB' connections but will disconnect AL-88c 'Rack' connections.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby CopperPhil » 31 Jul 2017, 11:06

I'm also running Sierra 10.12.6 here, without any problem...

Please run this reporting tool from your all your Mac and PCs and copy-paste the results hereafter. I want it from all your computers to see if there is a difference depending on the point of view of the CopperLan network:

For Mac: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/215 ... ol.app.zip
For PC: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/215 ... ngTool.exe

Thanks,

/Phil
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 469
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 01 Aug 2017, 01:09

FROM 'RackPC' :

436909201;RACKPC Windows 8.0
437909156;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=30;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]
437961567;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=31;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0xa000, D 0x0100007f, m 0xa000, # 0x0000]
440291642;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=0;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]
441375548;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=4;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]

Analyzed Output attached.
Attachments
RackPC.zip
(39.35 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Last edited by xpander on 01 Aug 2017, 01:46, edited 1 time in total.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

Re: CopperLan Manager will not remember Snapshots

Postby xpander » 01 Aug 2017, 01:10

FROM 'VSTPC' :

849883775;VSTPC Windows 8.0
850884225;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=30;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]
850928712;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=31;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0xa000, D 0x0100007f, m 0xa000, # 0x0000]
853320084;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=0;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]
854421658;CHAINOTIFICATION;NOTIF=4;ENDPT=[B 0x0000, M 0x0000, D 0x00000000, m 0x0000, # 0x0000]


Analyzed Output attached.
Attachments
VSTPC.zip
(39.2 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Last edited by xpander on 01 Aug 2017, 01:50, edited 1 time in total.
xpander
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 20:44

PreviousNext

Return to Bug report

cron