Why only 4 vports

Why only 4 vports

Postby bcslaam » 25 Jan 2013, 05:48

Hi I am new to Copperlan

I'm really impressed by Copperlan but the fact that there are only 4 ports seems contrary to the whole concept. Why so little?

MOL has 16 or so.

I realise objects can be directly connected but that doesn't accomodate the fact that the DAW should be the hub that accesses all devices. Currently it can only see 4 MIDI ports. Or am I missing something?

In my case I have 3 other PC farms running VEPro using physical I/O and MOL and each instance would easily eat up 4 ports.

Please provide at least 32 VPorts.

Ideally VEPro AND my DAW (Reaper/Logic/PT10) would bypass midi and use copperlan but thats ages away from happening.

I am seriously considering buying a few Alyseum AL-22 but this limitation is stopping me from entering the platform.

BTW is there any other companies out there that make midi>copperlan/ethernet interfaces Alyseum are very expensive.

Cheers
Ben
bcslaam

Re: Why only 4 vports

Postby CopperPhil » 25 Jan 2013, 07:33

Hi Ben,

Actually, you can set up the number of VMIDI ports dynamically from 4 to 32. Just use the CopperLan Manager, Edit tab, MIDI on your_computer, MIDI settings, Number of virtual ports.

However, please note that you can patch MIDI on a channel basis. Take a look at this to get a better understanding of what you can do with CopperLan: http://alyseum.com/downloads/ALYSEUM_Application%20Note_Global%20MIDI%20Network_%20V1.6_EN.pdf

Today Alyseum is the only one selling MIDI <=> CopperLan bridges. Their product are not cheap, but their capabilities, performance and flexibility are far away from anything else...

/Phil
CopperPhil

Postby bcslaam » 25 Jan 2013, 13:31

Hi Phil

Thanks for the reply. Great!! This looks cool.

However I expanded to 32 ports on the local pc and then the object for it dissappeared on the template and also the network card dissappeared from the list in settings and it also crashes on exit now. :(

WinXP sp3