MIDI virtual ports trouble

MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby lzrk_tx » 11 Aug 2015, 19:00

Hey everyone,
I'm having trouble connecting two computers together via CopperLan.

The first computer is MacBook Pro, and the second one is a Lenovo laptop, running Windows 7.
The issue is that both computers see only MIDI on Macbook:
Image

Virtual Midi Driver seems to be fine:
Image
I also see the I/O options VMidi 1-4 in host software (Bidule).

The only thing that confuses me is that protocol driver installed with default name, instead of "CopperLan Over Ethernet Protocol Driver" or how it's supposed to be called:
Image

What else I can do to troubleshoot the issue?

Thanks in advance,
Vlad
lzrk_tx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2015, 18:27

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby CopperPhil » 11 Aug 2015, 19:34

Are you using CopperLan V1.4? If so, the CopperLan Manager running on the Windows 7 machine can get connected to the MacBook's CopperLan engine (VNM = Virtual Network Manager) if it can't find a local VNM. This could explain your problem.The Win7 VNM is frozen => no CopperLan engine and no VMIDI operational on this computer => the Manager can only see the MacBook VMIDI ports.

Do you have any MIDI device, or other VMIDI ports on this Win7 computer (I see at least Bome stuff)? Can you try to disable/uninstall/disconnect all of these in order to have no MIDI on this Win7 computer except the CopperLan VMIDI, and then restart the CPVNM service (or reboot the computer, as you prefer).
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 476
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby lzrk_tx » 11 Aug 2015, 20:47

Hey Phil,
thank you for quick response.

Yeah, v1.4 here.
I've uninstalled (via Programs and features and Device manager) everything that can potentially cause trouble — LoopBe1, IPmidi, JACK, Bome, TouchOSC Bridge and rtpMIDI. Now I have only VMIDI i/o options in host software. After that I restarted CPVNM service — no luck. Still, only MacBook's VMIDI ports are available. Reboot didn't helped either.

Is there anything else I can try?
lzrk_tx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2015, 18:27

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby CopperPhil » 12 Aug 2015, 08:48

First, you can open the "Allow an app through Windows firewall" window (use Window search to find it), then check that "CopperLan Manager" and "CopperLan Virtual Network Manager" have their "Private" & "Public" options selected.

If still not working, try to uninstall then re-install CopperLan in order to reset all the settings.

Next step would be starting the CPVNM in a console, but it is a bit more complicated so I keep it as ultimate operation.
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 476
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby lzrk_tx » 12 Aug 2015, 14:10

Still, nothing.
Re-installed CopperLan (all of drivers were re-installed), added exceptions to firewall list — nothing.
BTW, now it's two of the same copies in Windows firewall list:
Image

But I guess it's Windows being silly. Also, firewall is disabled anyway.
What about console? Is there a way to start Manager/CPVNM with data logging?
lzrk_tx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2015, 18:27

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby CopperPhil » 12 Aug 2015, 14:45

Wel...... here is the procedure:

1) stop the CPVNM service
2) run a command prompt in administrator mode (run as administrator)
3) cd "\Program Files\CopperLan\CPVNM"[enter]
4) cpvnm -console[enter]
5) lclm[enter]
6) x[enter]
7) cpvnm -console[enter]
=> copy paste the information hereafter (especially the content between "Running..." and "Available commands")
8) n[enter]
=> copy paste the information hereafter.
9) e[enter]
=> copy paste the information hereafter.
10) s[enter]
=> copy paste the information hereafter.
11) t[enter]
=> copy paste the information hereafter.

then you can type x[enter], quit the console, and restart the service.

Thanks for your feedback.
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 476
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby lzrk_tx » 12 Aug 2015, 16:14

Strange, I don't have "Log options" and "Allocated memory" commands working, when every other command seems to be working just fine:
Image

So, I can't move past the step with "lclm then enter". Console just returning that this is an invalid command.
All info that available with default logging options is:
Image
lzrk_tx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2015, 18:27

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby CopperPhil » 12 Aug 2015, 16:36

Really? l option is invalid??? strange...

But the "Find CLP error 2" is not normal... it means that the VNM is not able to find the .clp files that should be present in the C:\Program Files\CopperLan\CPVNM\CLP folder...

Can you check that you have this folder and that it contains some .clop files (at least CLoNet.clp)?
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 476
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: MIDI virtual ports trouble

Postby lzrk_tx » 12 Aug 2015, 17:16

Yeah, also all of the other commands (except "a") working fine.

CLP folder is here, it contains three files:
    CHAIoNet.clp
    CLoNet.clp
    CLoUSB.clp

CLoNet is 43kb and filled, well, with some hex values.
lzrk_tx
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Aug 2015, 18:27


Return to General

cron