Connecting via Thunderbolt?

Connecting via Thunderbolt?

Postby verstaerker » 15 Dec 2015, 12:35

i have my two macs connected via thunderbolt - with is great and very fast

copperlan doesn't seem to work over thunderbolt - i can choose the active thunderbolt networks but don't see the other machine in the manager

is this normal?

additionally when i choose my second ethernet-port (the mac pro has two) - copperlan warns me about using a wireless interface!?
verstaerker
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 18 Sep 2015, 19:00

Re: Connecting via Thunderbolt?

Postby CopperPhil » 15 Dec 2015, 12:44

Hi,

Do you mean a direct thunderbolt -> thunderbolt connection, or are you using Thunderbolt/Ethernet dongles? there is a known issue with such Ethernet dongle, it is not working if you start the Mac and then plug it in. You have to plug the dongle before waking up the Mac. It may be the same issue if you do direct Thunderbolt connection... the cable should probably be connected on both sides before opening the Macs...
CopperPhil
 
Posts: 478
Joined: 30 Mar 2011, 15:02
Location: Brussels

Re: Connecting via Thunderbolt?

Postby verstaerker » 15 Dec 2015, 15:46

cool.. after restarting .. and switching some stuff on and off it suddenly works

what about my second question - any idea why my second ethernet port gets recognized as wireless-connection?
verstaerker
 
Posts: 44
Joined: 18 Sep 2015, 19:00


Return to Windows and Mac installation

cron